Generic placeholder image


Roman Holowinsky is an American mathematician known for his work in analytic number theory and, in particular, the theory of modular forms. He is currently an Associate Professor with tenure at The Ohio State University, Director of the Erdős Institute, and Chair Emeritus and Cofounder of The STEAM Factory.

Holowinsky was awarded the SASTRA Ramanujan Prize in 2011 for his contributions to "areas of mathematics influenced by the genius Srinivasa Ramanujan", for proving, with Kannan Soundararajan, an important case of the Quantum Unique Ergodicity (QUE) conjecture. In 2011, Holowinsky was also awarded a Sloan Fellowship.

In addition to research and teaching, Holowinsky is highly active in service to the Ohio State University and the greater Columbus community serving on multiple committees and boards.

View Roman Holowinsky's profile on LinkedIn

Generic placeholder image


Roman Holowinsky received a Bachelors in Science Degree from Rutgers University in 2001. Afterwards, he continued his studies at Rutgers and received his PhD in 2006 under the direction of Henryk Iwaniec.

Holowinsky's PhD thesis focused on the analysis of shifted convolution sums in application to the Quantum Unique Ergodicity (QUE) Conjecture of Rudnick and Sarnak. During his two year postdoctoral position at the University of Toronto and the Fields Institute, Holowinsky also became interested in sup-norm estimates for Hecke eigencuspforms. Work in this area resulted in publications pertaining to level aspect sup-norm bounds (joint with V. Blomer) and detailed spectral aspect estimates for higher rank groups (joint with K. Nowland, G. Ricotta, and E. Royer). Other interests include establishing subconvexity bounds for Rankin-Selberg L-functions in various settings (joint with K Aggarwal, Y. Lin, R. Munshi, P. Nelson, Q. Sun, N. Templier, and Z. Qi).

Holowinsky is currently mentoring 2 PhD students on their dissertation research. He has already graduated 5 PhD students: Keshav Aggarwal (2019), Yongxiao Lin (2018), Kevin Nowland (2018), Zhilin Ye (2014), and Zhi Qi (2015).

View publications on »

Generic placeholder image


The Erdős Institute

Founded in January 2017, the Erdős Institute is a multi-university collaborative institute with business development teams and investor alliances. We focus on PhD talent development and recruitment for industry and entrepreneurship.

Go to »

The STEAM Factory

In December 2012, Roman Holowinsky cofounded The STEAM Factory and served as its chair until June 2017. The STEAM Factory, now with a membership of over 150 faculty, postdocs and staff spanning over 100 departments and offices, is a diverse and inclusive grass-roots network in the Ohio State community that facilitates creative and interdisciplinary collaboration, innovation and dissemination of Ohio State research and technology.

Go to »